Washington State quarterback Luke Falk has been named to the Davey O'Brien national quarterback award watch list, the Davey O'Brien Foundation announced Thursday.

Share story

Washington State quarterback Luke Falk has been named to the Davey O’Brien national quarterback award watch list, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Thursday.

Falk, a 6-foot-4, 214-pound junior from Logan, Utah, is one of 30 quarterbacks on the watch list. He joins Washington’s Jake Browning, Arizona’s Anu Solomon and UCLA’s Josh Rosen as the four Pac-12 quarterbacks on the watch list for the award that goes to the best quarterback in college football annually.

Clemson’s Deshaun Watson won the award last year, and is also on this year’s watch list He’s hoping to become the first two-time Davey O’Brien winner since Oklahoma’s Jason White (2003 and 2004).

Falk won the starting quarterback job last fall, and started 12 games for the Cougars but missed the Apple Cup against Washington due to injury.

He earned all-Pac-12 first team honors and finished the season as a Burlsworth Trophy finalist and Davey O’Brien semifinalist. He was also named the MVP of the Hyundai Sun Bowl after he threw for 300 yards and two touchdowns to lead the Cougs to a 20-14 win over Miami.

The former walk-on completed 448 of 645 passes for 4,566 yards and threw 38 touchdowns to only eight interceptions. He led the nation with 380.5 passing yards per game and was second nationally with a 69.4 pass completion percentage.

Sixteen semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien award will be named on Nov. 10, and that will be whittled down to three finalists who will be announced on Nov. 22.

The Davey O’Brien award winner will be unveiled live on the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 8.

2016 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

  • Tommy Armstrong Jr. (Nebraska, Sr., Cibolo, Texas)
  • J.T. Barrett (Ohio State, Jr., Wichita Falls, Texas)
  • C.J. Beathard (Iowa, Sr., Franklin, Tenn.)
  • Jake Browning (Washington, So., Granite Bay, Calif.)
  • Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee, Sr., Alpharetta, Ga.)
  • Dane Evans (Tulsa, Sr., Sanger, Texas)
  • Luke Falk (Washington State, Jr., Logan, Utah)
  • Quinton Flowers (USF, Jr., Miami, Fla.)
  • Skyler Howard (West Virginia, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas)
  • Brad Kaaya (Miami, Jr., Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Chad Kelly (Ole Miss, Sr., Buffalo, N.Y.)
  • DeShone Kizer (Notre Dame, Jr., Toledo, Ohio)
  • Taylor Lamb (Appalachian State, Jr., Calhoun, Ga.)
  • Mitch Leidner (Minnesota, Sr., Lakeville, Minn.)
  • Wes Lunt (Illinois, Sr., Rochester, Ill.)
  • Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech, Jr., Whitehouse, Texas)
  • Tanner Mangum (BYU, So., Eagle, Idaho)
  • Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, Jr., Austin, Texas)
  • Nick Mullens (Southern Miss, Sr., Hoover, Ala.)
  • Josh Rosen (UCLA, So., Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
  • Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State, Jr., Rock Hill, S.C.)
  • Cooper Rush (Central Michigan, Sr., Charlotte, Mich.)
  • Seth Russell (Baylor, Sr., Garland, Texas)
  • Brett Rypien (Boise State, So., Spokane, Wash.)
  • Anu Solomon (Arizona, Jr., Las Vegas, Nev.)
  • Brent Stockstill (Middle Tennessee, So., Murfreesboro, Tenn.)
  • Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, Sr., Fort Wayne, Ind.)
  • Phillip Walker (Temple, Sr., Elizabeth, N.J.)
  • Greg Ward Jr. (Houston, Sr., Tyler, Texas)
  • Deshaun Watson (Clemson, Jr., Gainesville, Ga.)