One Huskies legend and one Cougars great are among the 75 players and six coaches from the FBS level nominated for the College Football Hall of Fame's class of 2017.

Share story

Former Washington defensive back Al Worley and former Washington State kicker Jason Hanson are on the ballot for the 2017 College Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Wednesday.

Worley had 14 interceptions (in 10 games) for UW in 1968, which still stands as the NCAA record. He was a team captain and a consensus first-team All-American in 1968 by the Associated Press, United Press International, American Football Coaches Association and Football News. He later played briefly for the Continental Football League.

Hanson was a two-time All-American for WSU and a unanimous selection in 1989. He holds numerous NCAA records, including longest field goal without a tee (62 yards) and career field goals of 40 yards or more (39). He was a four-time all-Pac-10 selection and the 1991 NFF National Scholar-Athlete.

Among the other nominees this year: Eric Dickerson (SMU), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Tony Gonzalez (California), Matt Leinart (USC), Ray Lewis (Miami), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Ken Norton Jr. (UCLA), Jake Plummer (Arizona State), Troy Polamalu (USC), Rashaan Salaam (Colorado), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico).

In all, 75 players and six coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision level are nominated for the 2017 class. The ballot was emailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and Hall of Famers, whose votes will be tabulated and sent to the NFF’s Honors Court, which makes the final selections.

Last year, legendary UW offensive lineman Lincoln Kennedy was one of 15 players and two coaches enshrined into the College Hall of Fame.