Others to be inducted this year include Craig Heyamoto, Sara Pickering, Bob Rondeau, Sanja Tomasevic, Brad Walker and Mary Whipple.

Share story

Don James‘ 1984 UW football team — which defeated Oklahoma in a memorable Orange Bowl and, many believe, was snubbed of a national championship — headlines the 2016 class of inductees into the Husky Hall of Fame, the school announced Tuesday.

The class includes six former UW student-athletes: Olin Kreutz (football, 1995-97); Sara Pickering (softball, 1994-97); Nate Robinson (basketball, 2003-05; football 2002); Sanja Tomasevic (volleyball, 2002-05); Brad Walker (track and field, 2002-05); Mary Whipple (rowing, 1999-2002), plus longtime broadcaster Bob Rondeau (1978-present).

Craig Heyamoto, UW’s longtime football stats crew chief , will also be presented with the Don H. Palmer Award, which was established in 1994 to recognize those who have exemplified a special commitment to the UW Athletic Department. As the unpaid athletic team physician from 1904-1947, Dr. Palmer founded the Big W Alumni Club, the Homecoming Halftime Blanket Parade and the 101 Club. Past award winners include Bill Bissell (1995), Gertrude Peoples (1996), Bruce Terami (1998), Orrin Vincent II (2001), Don Smith (2004) and Stanley Pocock (2014).

The Husky Hall of Fame was founded in 1979 and currently includes 174 individuals and 22 teams or rowing crews. The 2016 class will be inducted during a ceremony on Oct. 22 at Alaska Airlines Arena.