Pettis is the 22nd player in UW history to earn consensus All-America distinction.

Share story

Washington senior Dante Pettis was recognized Tuesday as a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association and The Sporting News, officially giving him “consensus” All-America recognition from the NCAA.

To earn consensus All-America honors, a player must be named to at least three of the five All-America teams recognized by the NCAA: the AFCA, The Sporting News, the Football Writers Association of America, The Associated Press and the Walter Camp Foundation.

Pettis was named a first-team All-American punt returner/all-purpose player by the Sporting News, Walter Camp, the FWAA and the AFCA. He was also an AP second-teamer.

The AFCA All-America team is scheduled to be announced Wednesday, but it was posted Tuesday on UW athletics’ website,

He is the 22nd player in program history to earn consensus distinction, and the third in the past four years. Budda Baker earned consensus recognition last year and Hau’oli Kikaha was a unanimous selection in 2014.

A senior from San Clemente, Calif., Pettis broke the NCAA record for punt-return touchdowns in a career, with nine. This season, Pettis returned four punts for scores, including the record-breaker in a 38-3 win over Oregon. He also tied an NCAA record by scoring on a punt return in three consecutive games (Rutgers, Montana, Fresno State) and broke the Pac-12 record for career punt return yards, with 1,274.

He enters the Dec. 30 Fiesta Bowl as the NCAA leader in punt return average, at 20.4 yards per return — the highest in a season by any returner in college football since 2013.

UW’s Consensus All-Americans
1925 – George Wilson, B
1928 – Chuck Carroll, B
1936 – Max Starcevich, G
1940 – Rudy Mucha, C
1941 – Ray Frankowski, G
1963 – Rick Redman, G
1964 – Rick Redman, G
1966 – Tom Greenlee, DT
1968 – Al Worley, DB
1982 – Chuck Nelson, PK *
1984 – Ron Holmes, DL
1986 – Jeff Jaeger, PK
1986 – Reggie Rogers, DL
1991 – Steve Emtman, DL *
1991 – Mario Bailey, WR
1992 – Lincoln Kennedy, OL *
1995 – Lawyer Milloy, DB *
1996 – Benji Olson, OL
1997 – Olin Kreutz, OL
2014 – Hau’oli Kikaha, LB*
2016 – Budda Baker, DB
2017 – Dante Pettis, PR
*Unanimous selection

Source: UW media guide