Huskies and Hokies meet for a Dec. 15 rematch in Atlantic City, N.J. as part of a college basketball quadruple-header. UW lost 103-79 to Tech in a non-conference game last year.

Share story

Depending on your vantage point, the Washington men’s basketball team’s schedule just got a little more interesting or increasingly difficult after the Huskies accepted an invitation to play Virginia Tech in the first-ever Boardwalk Classic.

The non-conference game takes place Saturday, Dec. 15 at Historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J. and is part of a four-game basketball bonanza. In the other games: Penn State faces North Carolina State, Temple plays Davidson and Princeton meets Iona.

It will be the second straight season UW and Virginia Tech will meet following a 103-79 Hokies’ win in a consolation game of the 2K Classic at Madison Square Garden last November. UW trailed 59-28 at halftime and was down 34 points early in the second half. The 24-point defeat was the Huskies’ third-most lopsided loss last season.

“We’re very excited for the opportunity to face Virginia Tech in Atlantic City,” coach Mike Hopkins said in a statement released by the Boardwalk Classic. “It will give us a great test against a team that made the 2018 NCAA Tournament that we also faced in November of last year. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame always puts on a great event and we’re ready to bring Husky Basketball to New Jersey.”

Last season the Hokies placed seventh in the Atlantic Coast Conference and lost in the first round of the NCAA tournament to finish 21-12.  Led by guard Justin Robinson, a three-year starter and leading scorer last season, Tech returns six of its top seven scorers, including four starters.

The Huskies tied for sixth in the Pac-12 last season and ended the season at 21-13 following a loss in the second round of the National Invitation Tournament.

Washington will also participate in the inaugural Vancouver Showcase, an eight-team tournament played Nov. 18-20 at the Vancouver Convention Centre that includes Texas A&M, Minnesota and Santa Clara.