The 1936 men’s team chosen as best varsity eight, 1997 women’s national champions also best varsity eight and Jan Harville is women’s coach of the century.

Share story

Washington crews dominated the Pac-12 All-Century rowing teams.

Out of 85 nominees on the men’s side, Washington led all schools with eight rowers selected.

For the women, out of 57 nominees, Washington led all schools with 10 selected.

The varsity eight of the century title went to the 1936 Washington team, national champions and Olympic gold medalists.

The women’s rowing coach of the century was Washington’s Jan Harville, who was with the Huskies from 1988-2003. Harville was a nine-time Pac-10 Coach of the Year and guided the Huskies to three NCAA championships. Her 1997 national championship crew was voted the varsity eight of the century.

UW men who made the team are Conlin McCabe, David Calder, Donald Hume, Joseph Rantz, Will Crothers, Matt Deakin, Rob Munn and coxswain Robert Moch.

UW women who made the team are Anna Mickelson Cummins, Megan Kalmoe, Kristi Norelius, Susan Broome, Shyril O’Steen, Sabina Telenska, Rika Geyser, Katie Maloney and coxswains Mary Whipple and Betsy Beard. Lisa Roman represented WSU.


• The Everett Silvertips acquired goaltender Austin McGrath from the Edmonton Oil Kings in exchange for a conditional seventh-round selection in the WHL Bantam draft.