Jori Epstein, who covers the Dallas Cowboys and the NFL for USA Today, has been selected as the 2022 Terez A. Paylor Emerging Writer Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America.

Epstein, the second Paylor Award winner, has covered the league and the Cowboys for USA Today since 2018. Epstein was also a finalist for last year’s inaugural award won by Jourdan Rodrigue of The Athletic.

The Paylor Award recognizes a rising talent in pro football writing who exemplifies the qualities of Paylor, the former Yahoo! Sports and Kansas City Star football writer who passed away in February 2021 at the age of 37.

Epstein, a graduate of the University of Texas, started her career at the Dallas Morning News and she also worked for Sports Illustrated and the Philadelphia Daily News. Her book “The Upstander,” a non-fiction account about Holocaust survivor and activist Max Glauben, was published in 2021.

The other finalists for the 2022 award were Michael-Shawn Dugar (The Athletic), Emmanuel Morgan (New York Times) and Tashan Reed (The Athletic).


More AP NFL: and and