After the first round of ballots from WNBA fans, Seattle's Sue Bird, Breanna Stewart, Jewell Loyd and Natasha Howard are among the top All-Star vote-getters.

Share story

If the first round of fan voting is any indication, the Storm will send four players to the 2018 WNBA All-Star Game.

Sue Bird (20,362) ranks fifth in the balloting while forward Breanna Stewart (19,354) is sixth, guard Jewell Loyd (9,818) 14th and forward Natasha Howard (6,315) 21st in the WNBA fan ballots.

The 15th WNBA All-Star Game will take place July 28 at Target Center in Minneapolis. ABC will televise the game live at 12:30 p.m. PT.

Bird is tied with Tamika Catchings, who retired in 2016, for 10 WNBA All-Star appearances – the most in league history. Stewart, the WNBA’s leading scorer, is poised to make her second appearance while Loyd and Howard are vying for their first All-Star trips.

Under a revamped format, a pool of 22 All-Stars will be selected without regard for conference affiliation through voting by fans (40 percent of the vote), current WNBA players and head coaches (20 percent each), and a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters (20 percent).

All-Star fan voting began June 19 and ends July 12 at 11:59 p.m. ET. Fans may submit one full ballot each day through or the WNBA App. Fans may also vote for up to 10 players per day on Twitter.

After all votes are tallied, players will be ranked within each of the four voting groups – fan votes, player votes, head coach votes and media votes. Each player’s score will be calculated by averaging her weighted rank applied to the respective voting groups.

The 22 players with the highest overall score will be announced July 17 and form the player pool for the WNBA All-Star Game.

The two All-Stars, regardless of conference, who receive the highest overall vote totals will serve as team captains and draft their respective 11-player rosters from the remaining pool of 20 All-Stars.

Minnesota’s Maya Moore (25,496) and Washington’s Elena Delle Donne (24,152) are the leading vote-getters after the first fan returns.

The All-Star rosters will be revealed July 19 during ESPN2’s telecast of a game between Washington and Dallas (5 p.m. PT tip-off).

The WNBA All-Star Game head coaches and staffs will be the two teams with the best records through games on July 13. The coach whose team has the best record will coach the All-Star team captained by the highest vote-getter.

The All-Star starting lineups will be revealed July 27 on ESPN2 (4 p.m. PT) during a live telecast of the WNBA All-Star Welcome Reception in Minnesota.

A look at the first fan returns of 2018 WNBA All-Star voting:

1) Maya Moore (MIN) 25,496
2) Elena Delle Donne (WAS) 24,152
3) Candace Parker (LA) 21,136
4) Diana Taurasi (PHX) 20,460
5) Sue Bird (SEA) 20,362
6) Breanna Stewart (SEA) 19,354
7) A’ja Wilson (LV) 18,768
8) Sylvia Fowles (MIN) 17,843
9) Skylar Diggins-Smith (DAL) 16,177
10) Nneka Ogwumike (LA) 16,103
11) Brittney Griner (PHX) 15,386
12) Seimone Augustus (MIN) 12,145
13) Lindsay Whalen (MIN) 9,889
14) Jewell Loyd (SEA) 9,818
15) Chiney Ogwumike (CON) 9,452
16) Chelsea Gray (LA) 9,403
17) Tina Charles (NY) 9,268
18) Rebekkah Brunson (MIN) 8,940
19) Liz Cambage (DAL) 8,680
20) Alana Beard (LA) 6,458
21) Natasha Howard (SEA) 6,315
22) DeWanna Bonner (PHX) 6,005
23) Angel McCoughtry (ATL) 5,672
24) Kayla McBride (LV) 5,524
25) Victoria Vivians (IND) 5,420
26) Kristi Toliver (WAS) 5,061
27) Kia Nurse (NY) 4,998
28) Odyssey Sims (LA) 4,772
29) Gabby Williams (CHI) 4,467
30) Allisha Gray (DAL) 4,235
31) Diamond DeShields (CHI) 4,186
32) Tiffany Hayes (ATL) 4,120
33) Candice Dupree (IND) 4,078
34) Jonquel Jones (CON) 3,514
35) Cecilia Zandalasini (MIN) 3,452
36) Alyssa Thomas (CON) 3,281
37) Allie Quigley (CHI) 3,233
38) Kelsey Plum (LV) 3,196
39) Jasmine Thomas (CON) 3,155
40) Kelsey Mitchell (IND) 3,134