The WNBA released its full 2019 schedule and the Storm will play five home games, including its first three, at the Angel of the Winds Arena in Everett. Seattle plays the other 12 home games at Alaska Airlines Arena.

Share story

The defending WNBA champion Seattle Storm will open the 2019 season against the Phoenix Mercury on May 25 in a rematch of the playoff semifinal from last season.

The 12:30 p.m. season opener will be televised on ABC and is one of five games the Storm will play at the Angel of the Winds Arena in Everett.

Due to an $800 million renovation project, the Storm will not be able to play in KeyArena for the next two seasons.

In 2019, Seattle will hold 12 of its 17 regular-season home games at Alaska Airlines Arena located at the University of Washington. It’s uncertain where the Storm will hold home preseason games or postseason contests if it advances to the playoffs.

The Storm plays its first three home games in Everett, including games June 4 (Minnesota) and June 21 (Los Angeles).

Seattle is on the road for seven of its first nine games, including a East Coast swing with stops in Chicago (June 9), Indiana (June 11), Washington (June 14) and Connecticut (June 16).

The Storm’s first game in Alaska Airlines Arena is June 23 against Indiana, which begins a stretch of eight home games over nine contests.

Seattle plays at Las Vegas on July 23 before the city holds the WNBA All-Star Game at the Mandalay Bay Events Center on July 27.

Following the All-Star break, the Storm plays six of its final 13 games at home.

Seattle ends the regular season with a three-game road trip to Phoenix (Sept. 3), Los Angeles (Sept. 5) and Dallas (Sept. 8).

In addition to the season opener, ABC will televise the Storm’s June 16 game at Connecticut.

ESPN2 will carry three Storm games: July 23 at Las Vegas, Aug. 14 at Washington, Sept. 3 at Phoenix.

ESPN networks expanded its coverage and will broadcast 16 WNBA regular-season games — an increase of 13 from last season — over its networks that will include three games on ABC, two on ESPN, and 11 on ESPN2. In addition, the All-Star Game will be broadcast on ABC.

The Storm’s local broadcast and preseason schedules will be announced at a later date.