MLS Cup will be televised on both FOX and UniMas -- and this year's postseason stretches over six-and-a-half weeks.

Share story

Major League Soccer’s gradual slide deeper into the holiday season will continue in 2016, as the league announced Tuesday that this year’s MLS Cup will be played on Dec. 10 and televised nationally on FOX.

That’s the latest in the calendar that the league has ever hosted its championship game — last year’s final was on Dec. 6 and prior to 2o12 none had been played after November — and the first time MLS Cup has been aired live on English-language network television since 2008.

With the knockout round set for Oct. 26 and 27, this year’s playoffs will stretch over six-and-a-half weeks. The format includes bye weekends between both the conference semis and finals and the conference finals and MLS Cup — avoiding the international dates carved into the middle of November.

The late championship game date on a Saturday night means that MLS will avoid going head-to-head with either an NFL Sunday or any major conference college football title games.

Below is the 2016 MLS Cup playoff schedule in full:

Knockout Round

(conference third seed vs. sixth, and fourth seed vs. fifth seed in a single-game elimination match)

October 26-27               Eastern and Western Conference Knockout Round games

  • Two games Wednesday Night (times TBD)

o    ESPN2 & UniMás

o    UniMás

Two games Thursday Night (times TBD)

o    FS1 & UniMás

o    UniMás

Conference Semifinals

(Two-game series, aggregate-goal format between conference top seed vs. lowest advancing seed from Knockout Round and conference second seed vs. highest seed from Knockout Round)

Sunday, Oct. 30                        Eastern and Western Conference Leg 1:

  • 12 p.m. PST (ESPN)
  • 2 p.m. (ESPN)
  • 5 p.m. (FS1)
  • 6:30 p.m. (FS1)

Sunday, Nov. 6             Eastern and Western Conference Leg 2:

  • 12 p.m.  (ESPN)
  • 3 p.m. (ESPN)
  • 4:30 p.m. (FS1)
  • 7 p.m. (FS1)

Conference Championships

(Two-game series, aggregate-goal format)

Sunday, Nov. 20           Western Conference Championship Leg 1 (FS1, 5 p.m.)

Tuesday, Nov. 22          Eastern Conference Championship Leg 1 (ESPN, 5 p.m.)

Sunday, Nov. 27           Western Conference Championship Leg 2 (ESPN, 2 p.m.)

Wednesday, Nov. 30     Eastern Conference Championship Leg 2 (FS1, 4 p.m.)

2016 MLS Cup

(hosted at the home venue of the finalist with the best regular season record)

Saturday, Dec. 10        2016 MLS Cup (FOX, UniMás, TSN, RDS, 5 p.m.)