The Seahawks did not tender offers to five restricted free agents, including RB Christine Michael and FB Derrick Coleman, who officially became unrestricted free agents at 1 p.m. Wednesday.

Share story

The NFL free agent signing period officially began at 1 p.m. Wednesday.

Shortly after, the NFL released a list of unrestricted free agents, confirming that five more Seattle players were now UFAs after not being given qualifying offers as restricted free agents.

The five are: RB Christine Michael, FB Derrick Coleman, OL Alvin Bailey, WR Ricardo Lockette and LB Nick Moody.

The Seahawks could have assured any of the five being part of the team in 2016 (or at least having a right of first refusal and getting compensation if they took a better offer) by tendering a qualifying offer guaranteeing them $1.67 million in 2016 if they make the final roster, something the Seahawks did earlier for center Patrick Lewis.

Instead, those players join 17 other Seattle players who were already listed as UFAs, though one has already agreed to re-sign with the Seahawks — DT Ahtyba Rubin.

That players such as Michael and Coleman were not tendered does not mean they can’t return to the Seahawks in 2016. It just means the Seahawks now have to sign them to a separate contract, and almost certainly for a lower salary.

The complete list of official free agents can be found here.