Share story

LOUDON, N.H. – Kyle Busch needed overtime to grab the checkered flag.

Once he did, he bowed twice to the crowd. He could have done it one more time — one for each green-white-checkered finish he needed to survive to win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Busch dominated in regulation, then proved he had the car to beat in three attempts of NASCAR’s version of overtime to win the CNBC Prime The Profit 200, a Nationwide Series race.

Busch needed to drive 213 laps of a scheduled 200-lap event to win his seventh race of the season. He snapped a four-race winless streak and won his 58th career Nationwide event to extend his record in NASCAR’s second-tier series.

Most Read Stories

Cyber Sale! Save 90% on digital access.

He had enough fuel left in the tank to win from the pole.

Busch then used it all up with one big burnout.

“We didn’t want to have those late restarts,” he said. “We felt like we had just enough fuel to make it to the end.”

Brian Vickers ran out of fuel as he reached the finish, 0.465 seconds behind Busch.

Kasey Kahne of Enumclaw finished 19th of 40.

Busch pitted for the final time two laps after Vickers, on Lap 119. He tried to conserve fuel through various methods and pad his stats for total laps led. He passed the 12,000 mark in career laps led and has 12,085.

“It’s just about being out front and setting your own pace,” Busch said. “It’s kind of like minding your own business. I like everyone away from me and to be doing my own thing.”

Joe Gibbs Racing drivers Busch (141 laps), Vickers (63) and Matt Kenseth (nine) led every lap.

Other race

Scott Dixon won the first of two IndyCar Series races set for this weekend through the streets of Toronto.

Sebastien Bourdais finished second for his first podium since the 2007 Champ Car season. He didn’t get much of a celebration, though: His trophy slipped off the pedestal and smashed into thousands of pieces.

So Bourdais improvised and raised the biggest chunk of trophy he could find in triumph on a podium shared with Dixon and third-place finisher Dario Franchitti.