The record-setting wide receiver takes the first of three national player of the year awards he is eligible to win.

Share story

In the first of three national player of the year awards he is up for, Eastern Washington junior wide receiver Cooper Kupp has been selected as the Walter Payton Award winner as selected by Mickey Charles LLC of

The awards program for the NCAA Football Championship was founded by Charles and The Sports Network, and is now in its 29th year. But The Sports Network ceased operation this summer, and the awards are independently presented by Mickey Charles LLC.

STATS is the now the leader in coverage for FCS Football, and will present the STATS FCS Offensive Player of the Year Award on Jan. 8 on the eve of the FCS championship game. Kupp is one of three finalists for that award, and is also a candidate for the offensive player of the year presented by the FCS Athletic Directors Association.

Kupp has previously been honored as a first-team selection on All-America teams announced by the American Football Coaches Association, STATS, The Associated Press, the FCS Athletic Directors Association, Walter Camp Football Foundation and College Sports Madness.

Kupp of Davis High in Yakima caught 114 passes this season. That broke the league record of 112 and ranks eighth all-time in FCS history.


• Boise State made 11 free throws down the stretch to pull away for an 84-79 women’s basketball victory at Eastern Washington.

Hayley Hodgins had 27 points to lead the Eagles (6-6). Ashli Payne scored 19 and Delaney Hodgins 18.

Brooke Pahukoa of Lake Stevens had 30 points for the Broncos (7-4).