Share story

FORT WORTH, Texas – Helio Castroneves raced to his first IndyCar Series victory of the season, leading the final 132 laps Saturday night for his fourth career victory at Texas Motor Speedway.

Castroneves also won at the 1½-mile, high-banked track in 2004, 2006 and 2009.

“Texas is awesome. I love this place,” he said after celebrating by climbing up the fence as he had done in previous victories.

Former series champion Sam Hornish Jr. was the only other three-time IndyCar winner at Texas, and his last came for Roger Penske, who now has eight victories at the track.

Most Read Stories

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks

Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Motorsports finished second, more than five seconds back.

With six other top-10 finishes in the first seven races, Castroneves entered the night tied with Marco Andretti for the season points lead.

Andretti finished fifth.

NASCAR race postponed

NEWTON, Iowa – The NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Iowa Speedway was postponed Saturday night until 8 a.m. PDT Sunday because of rain.

Rain began falling about 40 minutes before the scheduled start.

Workers were nearly finished drying the track before it started to pour again, forcing officials to push the race back a day.

Austin Dillon will start first after winning the pole for the third week in a row.