Brittney Griner: Baylor's All-American center has won the women's John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's national player of the year...

Share story

Brittney Griner: Baylor’s All-American center has won the women’s John R. Wooden Award as college basketball’s national player of the year for the second consecutive year.

Griner is the fourth woman to win back-to-back awards. She averaged 23.8 points — third-best in the country — and 4.1 blocked shots as a senior, and finished her career as the No. 2 scorer in NCAA history.

Griner didn’t attend Friday night’s ceremony at the Los Angeles Athletic Club because she is in Hartford, Conn., ahead of next week’s WNBA draft, in which she is expected to be the No. 1 pick.

She also missed last year’s ceremony.

Most Read Stories

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks

Trey Burke of national runner-up Michigan won the men’s Wooden Award, completing the sophomore guard’s sweep of the major player-of-the-year awards. He was announced as the winner at last weekend’s Final Four in Atlanta.

The Associated Press