The Baseball Hall of Fame released its 2016 induction ballot Monday morning. Of the 32 former players - 17 returning from last season's ballot and 15 who are newly eligible - Ken Griffey Jr. is the headliner.

Share story

The Baseball Hall of Fame released its 2016 ballot for induction Monday morning. It has been sent to eligible members of the Baseball Writers Association of America to vote upon and return by Dec. 21.

The ballot features 32 former players – 17 returning from last season’s ballot and 15 newcomers who became eligible for induction. Headlining that list of names is Ken Griffey Jr.

The former Mariners’ center fielder is a lock for induction in his first year of eligibility. Really, it comes down to what percentage of the votes he will garner. Griffey’s former teammate Randy Johnson got 97.27 percent of the vote in 2015. The highest is 98.84 percent for Tom Seaver.

Griffey’s resume is pretty impeccable.

Over 22 seasons, he totaled 2,781 hits, 630 homers – sixth most in MLB history – 1,662 runs, 1,836 RBI, with a career .907 OPS. From an awards standpoint, he appeared in 13 All-Star games, earned 10 Gold Gloves and seven Silver Slugger awards. He was the unanimous American League MVP in 1997 and led the AL in homers four times (1994, 1997-1999).

He also helped revitalize and save baseball in Seattle, leading the Mariners to the 1995 American League Division series, where he hit five homers and scored the series clinching run over the Yankees.

He would be the first player to be inducted as a Mariner. Johnson was inducted as a member of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Griffey joins Edgar Martinez, who returns to the ballot after receiving 27 percent of the vote in 2015. This is Martinez’s seventh year on the ballot.

His percentages of the vote have varied, but peaked in 2012.

  • 2010 (36.2%)
  • 2011 (32.9%)
  • 2012 (36.5%)
  • 2013 (35.9%)
  • 2014 (25.2%)
  • 2015 (27.0%)

A player must receive 5 percent of the votes to return to the ballot the following year. Counting this year, Martinez has four years left on the 10-year limit for induction before being removed from the ballot.

Long-time Padres’ closer Trevor Hoffman is another featured name in the new candidates. Hoffman notched 601 career saves and closed out 856 games in his 18 big league seasons. Only one other pitcher in MLB history – Mariano Rivera – has higher totals with 652 saves and 952 games closed out. Hoffman was a seven-time all-star, who compiled 14 30-plus save seasons from 1995-2009. He holds the MLB record of consecutive save opportunities at 41.

A year ago, four players – Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz, Craig Biggio –  received votes on the required 75 percent of the ballots for induction. While Griffey is a given, Mike Piazza seems likely to get in after receiving 69.9 percent last year. Jeff Bagwell (55.7 percent) and Tim Rainers (55 percent) received the next highest percentages.

Per the BBWAA and Hall of Fame, approximately 475 eligible voters have 10 consecutive years membership in the BBWAA and can cast ballots.  I do not have a vote. Larry Stone and Geoff Baker have votes from the Seattle Times.


Full ballot 

Name 2015 votes (percent) Years on ballot
Garret Anderson
Brad Ausmus
Jeff Bagwell 306 (55.7) 5
Barry Bonds 202 (36.8) 3
Luis Castillo
Roger Clemens 206 (37.5) 3
David Eckstein
Jim Edmonds
Nomar Garciaparra 30 (5.5) 1
Troy Glaus
Ken Griffey Jr.
Mark Grudzielanek
Mike Hampton
Trevor Hoffman
Jason Kendall
Jeff Kent 77 (14) 2
Mike Lowell
Edgar Martinez 148 (27) 6
Fred McGriff 71 (12.9) 9
Mark McGwire 55 (10) 9
Mike Mussina 135 (24.6) 2
Mike Piazza 384 (69.9) 3
Tim Raines 302 (55) 8
Curt Schilling 215 (39.2) 3
Gary Sheffield 64 (11.7) 1
Lee Smith 166 (30.2) 13
Sammy Sosa 36 (6.6) 3
Mike Sweeney
Alan Trammell 138 (25.1) 14
Billy Wagner
Larry Walker 65 (11.8) 5
Randy Winn