The Indians matched the American League mark held by the 2002 Oakland Athletics, beating the Detroit Tigers 2-0 as Corey Kluber (16-4) pitched a five-hitter.

Share story

CLEVELAND – Francisco Lindor skipped through the doorway and into the Cleveland Indians’ clubhouse, where the pulsating music was at an earsplitting level.

As many teammates dressed quickly with another game 14 hours away, Cleveland’s star shortstop worked the room, exchanging high-fives with anyone he could find.

It’s almost unthinkable for a team to win 20 straight games.

Usually, that only happens in the movies.

Most Read Stories

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks

“Moneyball” has its sequel.

Following a familiar script of scoring first, playing strong defense and riding dominant pitching, the Indians extended their winning streak to 20 and matched the American League mark held by the 2002 Oakland Athletics, beating the Detroit Tigers 2-0 on Tuesday night.

Cleveland’s streak, which began Aug. 24 in Boston, is tied for the majors’ second-longest in 82 years.

“It’s special,” Lindor said. “As a kid, you dream about playing in front of a lot of fans and the crowd goes nuts. That’s what you want. This is for them. It’s not for us.”

Lindor homered leading off the first and Corey Kluber (16-4) strengthened his Cy Young Award case with a five-hitter as Cleveland joined the 2002 A’s, 1935 Chicago Cubs (21) and 1916 New York Giants (26) as the only teams since 1900 to win at least 20 in a row.

“It’s pretty crazy,” Kluber said. “To go almost three weeks without losing a game is not something that you ever really expect.”

The Progressive Field crowd of 24,654, riveted by each pitch as though it was October, stood and roared when Kluber sprinted to the mound for the ninth.

Second baseman Jose Ramirez made a sensational diving stop in short right field to throw out Ian Kinsler for the second out, and after allowing a double to Alex Presley, Kluber sealed streak win No. 20 by getting Miguel Cabrera on an easy grounder to third.

Best MLB win streaks
The only teams to win at least 20 in a row since 1900:
Wins Year Team
26 1916 New York Giants
21 1935 Chicago Cubs
20 2002 Oakland A’s
20 2017 Cleveland
Note: Giants’ streak includes a tie.