The 84th Scholar-Athlete Awards Luncheon was Thursday at the Washington Athletic Club.

Share story

The hoopla, if you’ll allow the pun, is over for Daejon Davis.

The Garfield basketball star made news in March for de-comitting to Washington and signing with Stanford in April as part of the fallout to UW firing longtime coach Lorenzo Romar.

“This challenge will pay off in the end,” Davis said of the backlash and ultimately choosing a tough academic school. “I’m never going to stop working at basketball, but there are so many other things out there and I want to open the eyes of the youth in this area that there are other things besides basketball. Basketball can just be a way to get out.”

One local athlete who’ll join Davis as part of the Cardinal’s incoming class is Jordan Oakes of Holy Names. Oakes is a two-time Class 3A girls cross country state champion and 2016-17 Gatorade Washington Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year.

The seniors have another thing in common as 101 Club honorees for the 84th Scholar Athletes Awards Luncheon. They attended the ceremony Thursday at the Washington Athletic Club along with peers from other schools.

The 101 Club is a group within the WAC that strongly supports amateur athletics, particularly the Metro League. Each of the league’s 16 schools honored three boys and three girls as its scholar-athletes. Of those, the 101 Club selected 10 to receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Those winners were Will Laird (Garfield), Abel Demoz (Nathan Hale), Hannah Dodson (Nathan Hale), Kate Veenhuizen (West Seattle), Yin Zhu (Franklin), Nor Jannah Bongato (Cleveland), Toan Tran (Franklin), Alfred Escorpiso (Cleveland), Shina Aiko Williams (Rainier Beach) and Jenson Yuen (Ingraham).

Here are all of the honorees and their sport by school:

Ballard; Megan McAlister (volleyball, basketball, softball), Samantha Blue (track, cross country), Melina Monlux (tennis, basketball), Valentin Boyanov (basketball, tennis), James Konugres (track, cross country) Elijah Wolk (lacrosse, football).

Bishop Blanchet: Beatriz Cuevas (volleyball, track), Jadyn Bush (basketball, track), Anne Maher (basketball, track, cross country), Will Merriman (football, basketball, tennis), Connor Rauch (cross country, track) Tommy Vail (baseball, golf).

Chief Sealth: Sydney Thomas (soccer, basketball, track), Keyaira Corbray (soccer, basketball, track), Mia Hyde (soccer, swim, track), Kyler Gaither (football, basketball, baseball), Nathan Perrine (cross country, wrestling, track), Anh Trinh (football, swim, soccer).

Cleveland: Nor Jannah Bongato (soccer, softball, wrestling, basketball), Deqa Mumin (cross country, track), Ryan Terry (basketball), Thang Mai (cross country, swim, soccer), Eddie Jenkins (football, soccer), Alfred Escorpiso (tennis).

Eastside Catholic: Henry Gilchrist (track, cross country), Tyler Folkes (football), Jackson Bandow (baseball), Jamie Krueger (lacrosse, cross country), Rachel DePencier Pinero (volleyball), Sarah Bosworth (soccer, track).

Franklin: Yin Zhu (tennis), Emma Eder (swim, track), Terryn Payne-Jordan (basketball, soccer, track), Justin La (cross country, track), Toan Tran (cross country, track, swim), Idris Abdul-Alim (track, cross country).

Garfield: Will Laird (cross country, track), Daejon Davis (basketball), Jelani Howard (football, basketball), Fiona Skerrett (soccer softball), Kirkland Kelly (track), S. Lanai Hurd (volleyball, track).

Holy Names: Hana Ferrero (crew), Jordan Oakes (cross country, track), Katy Mockett (soccer, track).

Ingraham: Olivia Rea (soccer, basketball, lacrosse), Melissa Nunez (basketball, softball, soccer), Nikki Loseff (track, cheer, gymnastics, swim/dive), Jenson Yuen (swim, tennis, ultimate Frisbee), Alex Cochrane (cross country, swim/dive, baseball), Leo Donlea (cross country, track).

Lakeside: Sophie Cantine (cross country, track), Bennett Dondoyano (football, basketball, track), Abby Euyang (golf, basketball, track), Ben Hinthorne (football, basketball, baseball), Kallin Spiller (volleyball, basketball, track), Gus VanNewkirk (crew).

Nathan Hale: Abel Demoz (cross country, track, swim), Matias Galati (soccer), Jason Moore (wrestling), Hannah Dodson (cross country, track, gymnastics), Ruby Ellis (volleyball), Natalie Furtick (tennis, cheer).

O’Dea: Tony Flor (football, lacrosse), Jason Wong (soccer, football), Dominique Gates (football, baseball).

Rainier Beach: Khalil Shabazz (basketball, baseball), Jaedyn Colly (football, wrestling, baseball), Tresean Levias (basketball), Aleighja Sinson-Harris (basketball, soccer), Nirae Petty (basketball, softball, cross country), Shina Aiko Williams (tennis).

Roosevelt: Amy Alverson (soccer, track), Mia Syme (swim), Serena Toney (soccer, basketball, softball), Rory Hayashi (football, wrestling, track), Gabe Spach (golf, basketball), Emmett Wayte (swim).

Seattle Prep: Matt Zech (tennis, golf), Aaron Nettles (basketball), Jesse Franklin (baseball, football, basketball), Chinwe Ezeonu (basketball), Ellie Kopf (cross country, track, soccer), Nicole Rasmussen (lacrosse, soccer).

West Seattle: Brynn Snodgrass (softball), Izzy Turk (basketball), Kate Veenhuizen (soccer, track), Tommy Irwin (soccer, gymnastics), John Ursino (football, track), Andrew Burggraff (baseball, football, basketball).