Lake Washington, the Class 3A state champions, and Vashon, the Class 1A champs, also honored by the WSBCA.

Share story

Skyline won the Class 4A baseball state championship in May with a 19-8 record – more losses than most state champions accumulate over a year. And the Spartans did so with an impressive win, 2-1, against Kentwood.

For its efforts, three members of the team were named to the Washington State Baseball Coaches Association 2016 All-State team for Class 4A. The WSBCA board and its member coaches select the teams for all classifications.

Skyline’s Brandon Hemphill was named Coach of the Year. Infielders Connor Knutson and Danny Sinatro received first-team honors. Sinatro, who was picked by Cleveland in the Major League Baseball amateur draft, is signed to play baseball at Washington State.

“Growing up, I always thought (I would win a title) in football,” Sinatro told reporters after the championship win. He also played four years on Skyline’s football team. “But we end with baseball. It’s just awesome to get to this point, prove all the doubters wrong.”

Here’s the complete list of all-state team members (Note: Bonney Lake’s Matt Gretler is a sophomore, not a senior as listed by the WSBCA):