Evergreen, Highline, Tyee and Foster withdraw application to KingCo 2A.

Share story

Four current Seamount League high schools withdrew their joint application to the KingCo Conference on Wednesday and instead will apply to the South Puget Sound League 2A.

Evergreen, Highline, Tyee and Foster had sought membership in what would be a 2A division of KingCo, joining current KingCo schools Liberty and Sammamish.

Site evaluations were conducted by administrators last week and presentations were made to the KingCo athletic directors and principals Monday and their vote was expected at a joint meeting Thursday. That vote was delayed Wednesday until Feb. 8.

Terri McMahan, director of athletics for the Highline School District, which encompasses Evergreen, Highline and Tyee, said she had heard some concerns about the lack of sub-varsity programs in a variety of sports and when the KingCo decision was delayed, the Seamount schools as a block decided to withdraw application.

“We felt the writing was on the wall,” she said, adding the additional delay was not acceptable. “We needed to move on.”

Lindbergh and Renton, the two other Seamount 2A members once also considering KingCo, had opted to apply to the revamped South Puget Sound League 2A – but a decision by the SPSL was apparently in flux awaiting the KingCo vote on the other Seamount schools.

McMahan said Evergreen, Highline, Tyee and Foster would begin the application process to the SPSL as soon as Thursday. If denied, along with Renton and Lindbergh, the Seamount could be considered a viable six-school league. However, McMahan noted that not all six schools offer all sports and for many it is a five-school league.

Tyee does not offer an independent football program and instead co-ops with Mount Rainier, which will be part of the 4A North Puget Sound League this fall. Some Seamount schools also co-op for wrestling, track-and-field, swimming and tennis.

Should the SPSL 2A turn down the applications from any or all of the current Seamount schools, they could appeal to the West Central District.

The new SPSL has accepted 10 teams, including Foss of Tacoma, and would grow to 16 with the Seamount applicants. McMahan said she plans to propose some divisional options outside of a traditional eight-and-eight split, such as having Foss join a seven-team North Division with the Seamount schools, and letting the South Division house nine with Clover Park, Eatonville, Fife, Franklin Pierce, Orting, River Ridge, Steilacoom, Washington and White River.

Narrows 3A schools appeal to join SPSL 3A

Figure it out – that’s what a West Central District appeals committee has asked schools from the new SPSL 3A and remaining Narrows 3A schools to do.

The SPSL 3A has already agreed to a nine-school alignment with Bethel, Bonney Lake, Gig Harbor, Lakes, North Thurston, Peninsula, Spanaway Lake, Timberline and Yelm.

The league earlier denied membership applications from Central Kitsap, Lincoln, Mount Tahoma, Shelton Stadium and Wilson, currently Narrows members. Those schools do not want to go forward as a six-school league and appealed to the West Central District.

The committee met Wednesday and directed administrators from the SPSL 3A and six Narrows teams to “find an equitable solution of league(s) alignment by reviewing all options to include a league with divisions or two (2) balance leagues,” giving a deadline of 4 p.m. on Feb. 3.

Otherwise, the appeals committee will make an enforceable decision, according to WCD director Shelly Thiel.