CANTON, Ohio (AP) — The Pro Football Hall of Fame will hold two induction ceremonies this year.

The five modern-day players, plus the two coaches and three contributors elected separately as part of the NFL’s centennial celebration, will go into the Canton shrine on Aug. 8.

Ten senior players also chosen by a special committee as part of the centennial, will be inducted on Sept. 18 — the actual 100th anniversary of the league is Sept. 17.

Entering the hall in August will be Steve Atwater, Isaac Bruce, Steve Hutchinson, Edgerrin James and Troy Polamalu, all modern-day players. They will be joined by coaches Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson, and contributors Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue and George Young.

The 10 seniors are Harold Carmichael, Jim Covert, Bobby Dillon, Cliff Harris, Winston Hill, Alex Karras, Donnie Shell, Duke Slater, Mac Speedie and Ed Sprinkle. Among the planned events in September is the dedication of a new Centennial Plaza in downtown Canton near the site where the NFL was founded. Monuments featuring the names of the more than 25,000 players who competed in the league in its first century will be unveiled.

The Hall of Fame game will be staged Aug. 6.


More AP NFL: and