Texas quarterback Vince Young won the Maxwell Award as the nation's top player, beating out fellow Heisman Trophy finalists Reggie Bush...

Share story

ORLANDO, Fla. — Texas quarterback Vince Young won the Maxwell Award as the nation’s top player, beating out fellow Heisman Trophy finalists Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart of USC.

Young leads the nation in passing efficiency with a 168.6 rating. He has passed for 2,769 yards and 26 touchdowns, and leads the Longhorns in rushing with 850 yards.

The Maxwell Award was once considered a good way to predict who would win the Heisman, but not recently. The past five winners, including Oklahoma’s Jason White last season, did not win the Heisman. Bush is considered the front-runner to win the Heisman on Saturday.

The last player to win both the Maxwell and the Heisman was Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne in 1999.

Young was the third Texas player to win the Maxwell Award.

Bush did secure the Walter Camp Award, making him the fifth USC player to earn the honor given to the nation’s top player.

Bush joined O.J. Simpson (1967 and 1968), Charles White (1979), Marcus Allen (1981) and Leinart (2004) as a Camp Award winner.

Bush also won the Doak Walker Award given to the top running back, beating out Washington State’s Jerome Harrison and Memphis’ DeAngelo Williams.

The 6-foot, 200-pound Bush has rushed for 1,658 yards and scored 18 touchdowns this season, averaging 8.9 yards a carry for the top-ranked Trojans. He also has 31 receptions for 383 yards, and is averaging 217.6 all-purpose yards per game.

Harrison rushed for 1,900 yards this season, averaging 6.2 yards per carry, and scored 17 touchdowns.

College football award winners
Award Player, school
Maxwell Award (best all-around player) Vince Young, Texas, QB
Walter Camp Award (best all-around player) Reggie Bush, USC
Chuck Bednarik Trophy (best defensive player) Paul Posluszny, Penn State, LB
Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) Greg Eslinger, Minnesota, C
Lombardi Award (best lineman or linebacker) A.J. Hawk, Ohio State, LB
Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Vince Young, Texas
Doak Walker Award (best running back) Reggie Bush, USC
Fred Biletnikoff Award (best wide receiver) Mike Hass, Oregon State
Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) Michael Huff, Texas
Lou Groza Collegiate (place-kicker award) Alexis Serna, Oregon State
Ray Guy Award (best punter) Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest
Coach of the Year Award Joe Paterno, Penn State