GLASGOW, Scotland (AP) — Uncapped Chelsea midfielder Billy Gilmour was included Wednesday in Scotland’s squad for the European Championship.

The 19-year-old Gilmour is regarded as one of the most highly rated youngsters in the Premier League and has forced his way into Chelsea’s star-studded team in recent weeks. He has played for Scotland’s youth teams but had never been called up to the senior squad.

“Billy Gilmour’s a player that I have known for a long time. I know he is very, very well regarded at Chelsea,” said Scotland coach Steve Clarke, who played and coached at the London club.

Scotland will head into its first major tournament in 23 years with two other uncapped youngsters in the squad: Nathan Patterson, a 19-year-old Rangers right back, and David Turnbull, a 21-year-old Celtic midfielder recently voted as the country’s young player of the year.

“I’ve added three young ones who will liven it up a little bit,” said Clarke, who stressed the camaraderie built among the squad in qualifying.

Winger Ryan Fraser was included, despite Newcastle manager Steve Bruce saying it would be a gamble for the player to join Clarke’s squad having not played since March because of a groin injury.


Midfielders Ryan Jack and Kenny McLean plus forward Oli McBurnie had already been ruled out through injury.

Clarke said those injuries mean Manchester United’s Scott McTominay will play in midfield, having previously been used in a three-man central defense for Scotland.

Scotland will host the Czech Republic and Croatia at Hampden Park either side of a trip to Wembley Stadium to face fierce rival England in the group stage at Euro 2020.

Scotland qualified for its first tournament since the 1998 World Cup by winning back-to-back penalty shootouts in playoffs against Israel and Serbia.



Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon (Hearts), David Marshall (Derby), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Grant Hanley (Norwich), Jack Hendry (KV Oostende), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal), Greg Taylor (Celtic)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), John McGinn (Aston Villa), David Turnbull (Celtic)

Forwards: Che Adams (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian)


More AP soccer: and