Share story

Gov. Chris Gregoire on Tuesday declared a state of emergency in 17 Washington counties because of damage from January’s severe winter storms.

The estimated cost to repair damage to homes, businesses, highways and public facilities is currently more than $1.1 million, Gregoire said in a news release. Her proclamation will allow state resources to meet the emergency needs of local jurisdictions.

The state of emergency covers Chelan, Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grant, Grays Harbor, King, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Wahkiakum and Whatcom counties.

Gregoire also asked President Obama to declare a federal disaster area in seven Washington counties — Clallam, Cowlitz, Kitsap, Mason, Skagit, Skamania and Snohomish — because of damage from severe winter storms between Dec. 8 and Dec. 18.

Federal Emergency Management Agency grants will defray 75 percent of eligible damage and costs from the December storms if the declaration is approved.