State payments to jurors vary widely.

Share story

A lawsuit filed this week  claims King County’s expense payment to jurors contributes to the exclusion of poor people and minorities from jury pools because their employers are less likely to pay them for time spent on jury duty.

King County pays $10 per day, which is the lowest amount allowed by Washington state law. The state allows juror pay up to $25 a day.

Each state handles jury payment differently. Some put the responsibility on counties to decide compensation; others set clear rates and pay for travel expenses or mileage, too. Dollar amounts can vary widely.

Here’s a look at how Washington courts’ juror compensation compares with other states (and the federal government):

State,Pay,Additional benefits,Source Alabama,$10 per day ,$.05 per mile ,"More information" Alaska,$0 first day; $25 per day thereafter ,mileage reimbursed for those traveling more than 30 miles,"More information" Arizona,"$12 per day, unless excused after first day (Jurors serving longer than 5 days can apply for income compensation up to $300 a day)",mileage reimbursed,"More information" Arkansas,$50 per day,,"More information" California,$15 per day,$.34 per mile,"More information" Colorado,$50 per day (employer pays first three days),,"More information" Connecticut,"Misc. - employers pay regular wage for 5 days, state pays $50 stipend thereafter ","up to $50 per day for expenses including parking, child care, transportation","More information" Delaware,$20 per day ,,"More information" Florida,$15 per day for first three days; $30 per day thereafter,,"More information" Georgia,$5- $50 (determined by county),,"More information" Hawaii,$30 per day,$.33 per mile,"More information" Idaho,$10-50 per day determined by county,mileage reimbursed ,"More information" Illinois,$25 first day; $50 thereafter,,"More information" Indiana,Misc. - varies by county,,"More information" Iowa,$30 per day for seven days; $50 thereafter,travel expenses reimbursed,"More information" Kansas,$10- $50 determined by county,mileage reimbursed,"More information" Kentucky,$12.50 per day ,,"More information" Louisiana,$25 per day,,"More information" Maine,$15 per day,$.15 per mile ,"More information" Maryland,$15 per day for first three days; $30 per day thereafter,$.30 per mile,"More information" Massachusetts,Misc. - employers pay wage for 3 days; state pays $50 stipend thereafter,,"More information" Michigan,$25 for first day; $40 per day thereafter,mileage reimbursed,"More information" Minnesota,$20 per day,$.54 per mile ,"More information" Mississippi,Misc. - unclear,,"More information" Missouri,"$6 per day minimum (more if county chooses additional reimbursement, also for big cities) ",$.7 per mile ,"More information" Montana,"$12 per day minimum, $25 per day if selected for jury",mileage reimbursed,"More information" Nebraska,$35 per day,mileage reimbursed ,"More information" Nevada,$40 per day after second day of jury selection,mileage reimbursed ,"More information" New Hampshire,$20 per day,$.20 per mile ,"More information" New Jersey,"$5 per day, $40 on fourth day and thereafter; grand jurors get $5 per day ",,"More information" New Mexico,$6.75 per hour,$.46 per mile,"More information" New York,"$40 per day (after 30 days, court can authorize an addition $6 per day)",,"More information" North Carolina,"$10 for first day, $20 for rest of first week, $40 thereafter; grand jurors get $20 per day ",,"More information" North Dakota,$50 per day,$.54 per mile ,"More information" Ohio,Misc. - varies by county,,"More information" Oklahoma,$20 per day; up to $200 per day if trial qualifies as lengthy ,,"More information" Oregon,$10 per first two days; $25 per day thereafter,$.20 per mile,"More information" Pennsylvania,$9 per day; $25 fourth day and thereafter ,,"More information" Rhode Island,$15 per day,,"More information" South Carolina,Misc. - varies by county,mileage reimbursed,"More information" South Dakota,$10 per day for service; $50 if selected for a case ,$0.37 per mile,"More information" Tennessee,$10 per day ,counties can increase compensation,"More information" Texas,$6-$50 depending on county,"county can compensate for mileage, child care, parking and meals","More information" Utah,$18.50 for first day; $49 thereafter,mileage reimbursed for those driving more than 50 miles,"More information" Vermont,$30 per day (juror must request payment),,"More information" Virginia,$30 per day ,,"More information" Washington,$10-25 per day,mileage reimbursement ,"More information" West Virginia,$40 per day,mileage reimbursement ,"More information" Wisconsin,"$16 (at least, varies by county)",,"More information" Wyoming,$30 per day; $50 after a week (at court's discretion),mileage reimbursment,"More information" Federal courts,"$40 ($50 for trials lasting more than two weeks)",,"More information"

This Matrix blog post was helpful in completing this research.