First-day returns in the Seattle School Board primary show Leslie Harris and incumbent Marty McLaren advancing in District 6 to the November ballot. In District 3, Jill Geary and Lauren McGuire will compete to replace Harium Martin-Morris.

Share story

Voters narrowed the field in two of the four Seattle School Board races up for grabs this fall, with first-day returns favoring the candidates with the most organized campaigns for the November ballot.

In West Seattle’s District 6, Marty McLaren, the only incumbent in the race, will face Leslie Harris, a paralegal and longtime Democratic Party activist.

In District 3, which includes parts of northeast Seattle and downtown, attorney Jill Geary and former Seattle Council PTSA president Lauren McGuire will square off to replace Harium Martin-Morris, who is leaving the board after two terms.

Seattle Schools, District 3

Lauren McGuire — 47.8%

David Blomstrom — 1.3%

Stephen J. Clayton — 5.4%

Jill Geary — 45. 1%

Seattle Schools, District 6

Leslie Harris — 46%

Nick Esparza — 14.6%

Marty McLaren — 38.9%

The results were not surprising. None of the three candidates culled from the ballot — Nick Esparza in District 6 and Stephen Clayton and David Blomstrom in District 3 — reported raising any campaign money.

This fall’s election will bring three and possibly four new faces to the seven-member board because three board members decided not to run again.

McLaren is running for her second four-year term but trails Harris in fundraising and high-profile endorsements.

The West Seattle’s 34th Legislative District Democrats, for example, endorsed McLaren in 2011 but this year gave Harris a sole endorsement.

Harris had 46 percent of the vote Tuesday, and McLaren had about 39 percent.

Geary and McGuire lead all candidates in fundraising — combined they’ve collected more than $60,000 for the District 3 race. McGuire had about 48 percent of the vote on Tuesday, and Geary had 45 percent.

Component post 9700878 could not be found.

The other two open seats this fall — District 1 now held by Sharon Peaslee and District 2, represented by Sherry Carr — have two contestants each, who advance automatically to the November ballot.

In North Seattle’s District 1, Michael Christophersen faces Scott Pinkham.

Laura Obara Gramer and Rick Burke will compete for the District 2 seat, which covers the Green Lake area.

In November, all School Board candidates will run citywide. In the primary, they are selected to move on by voters in their districts.