National Merit finalists: Fifteen Northshore School District seniors have been named finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Foundation...

Share story

National Merit finalists:

Fifteen Northshore School District seniors have been named finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Foundation: Brian Fouhy, Taylor LaFlam and Andrea Norman of Bothell High School; Sarah Caley, Jesse Engreitz, David Linders, David Martin, Nina McMurray, Daniel Sito, Arita Thatte, Joshua Tom and Rachel Wilkowski of Inglemoor High School; and Aaron Beppu, Genevieve Peaslee and Carl Romao of Woodinville High School.

Communications Officer of the Year:

Deanna Oliver was named Communications Officer of the Year for the State Patrol District 2 Communications Center in Bellevue. Oliver now will be considered for the statewide title.

PTA awards:

The Lake Washington Parents, Teachers and Students Association Council (LWPTSA) held its annual Founders Day Celebration last week and recognized individuals who continually contributed time toward the Lake Washington School District. Tracy Hoien, regional legislation chair of the Washington State PTA, received the Outstanding Service Award; Tomi Ohta and Antonia Duenas of Redmond Elementary School were both presented the Community Service Award for their work in bringing the Latino holiday Los Santos Reyes celebration to Redmond; Wendy Steiger and Kathy Dennis received the Certificate of Special Service. The Golden Acorn Award was presented to Sue Holt, co-vice president of the council, and Michallea Schuelke; and Jackie Pendergrass, member of the Lake Washington School Board and Mary Locke, kindergarten teacher
at Einstein Elementary School, were presented the Outstanding Educator award.

Most Read Stories

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks

YMCA community award:

State Sen. Rosemary McAuliffe of Bothell was presented the 2005 YMCAs of Washington Strong Kids, Families and Communities Award last week. The award honors legislators who work on behalf of families and communities and who exemplify the YMCA values of caring, honest, respect and responsibility.

Community of the year:

Issaquah Highlands was presented the America’s Community of the Year Silver Award by the National Association of Home Builders recently. The Highlands was recognized for urban-village planning; environmental stewardship; and emphasis on timeless and traditional architecture, pedestrian orientation and high-tech infrastructure.

Compiled by Angie Ma

Kudos appears each Tuesday in the Eastside edition of The Seattle Times. E-mail items to or send to Kudos, The Seattle Times Eastside News Bureau, 1200 112th Ave. N.E., Suite C-145, Bellevue, WA 98004.