U.S. law-enforcement agencies under reform agreements with the Department of Justice.

Share story

Special report: What Seattle police can learn from an ‘out of control’ department’s turnaround in New England

The Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division is enforcing 19 agreements with law-enforcement agencies, including 14 court-ordered consent decrees and one post-judgment order.

Consent Decrees: New Orleans Police Department, Puerto Rico Police Department, Seattle Police Department, Portland Police Department, Virgin Islands Police Department, East Haven (Conn.) Police Department, Warren (Ohio) Police Department, Albuquerque (N.M.) Police Department, Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department-Antelope Valley, Cleveland Division of Police, Meridian (Miss.) Police Department, Maricopa County (Ariz.) Sheriff’s Office, Ferguson (Mo.) Police Department, Newark (N.J.) Police Department.

Out-of-Court Agreements: Suffolk County (N.Y.) Police Department, Beacon (N.Y.) Police Department, Missoula County (Mont.) Attorney’s Office, Miami Police Department

Post-Judgment Order: Melendres v. Arpaio (United States intervened in a federal lawsuit in Arizona involving Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio.)

Among those still under Justice Department investigation are the Chicago Police Department and the Baltimore Police Department.

Over the past three years, the Justice Department has successfully concluded the implementation of three consent decrees, as well as three memorandums of agreement (MOA).

Completed Consent Decrees: Los Angeles Police Department, District of Columbia Metropolitan Police Department and Detroit Police Department

MOA: Orange County (Fla.) Sheriff’s Office, University of Montana Department of Public Safety and Missoula (Mont.) Police Department.