Starting Tuesday, all new ignition interlock devices — used by drivers with DUI convictions — must include a camera.
Starting Tuesday, law enforcement is adding another layer of safety precaution for drivers convicted of DUI: All new ignition interlock devices will feature a camera.
Ignition interlock devices, which require a clean breath sample before allowing a car to start, have been used for years to keep those convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol from reoffending. But authorities said there have been cases of drivers asking a passenger or even a child to blow into the device for them.
With the new devices, a camera automatically takes a snapshot of the driver whenever a sample is required.
The camera actually takes two photos each time, said Sgt. Ken Denton of the State Patrol’s impaired-driving office in Seattle. The first is taken when the device alerts the driver to provide a breath sample, and the second is snapped while the driver is actively blowing into the interlock device.
Most Read Local Stories
- Coronavirus daily news updates, July 3: What to know today about COVID-19 in the Seattle area, Washington state and the world
- A COVID-19 outbreak on UW's Greek Row hints at how hard it may be to open colleges this fall
- Gov. Inslee will require Washington businesses to turn away customers without coronavirus facial coverings
- Call it the 'boss tax:' Seattle finally finds a potent way to tax the rich
- Court order, City Council law didn’t stop Seattle police from using pepper spray, projectiles
“It would show someone else blowing from, say, the back seat, or a passenger,” he said.
The photos, just like the results of each breath test, are sent to the device’s manufacturer, and can be ordered by law enforcement if a question arises about someone faking the tests.
Before the cameras, Denton said, authorities had no way to track claims that a device was being tampered with.
In Washington, a first-offense DUI comes with a mandatory one-year ignition interlock. A second offense means five years with the device, and a third means 10 years.
Under the new requirement, offenders who already have received a yearlong restriction are exempt from the camera feature, but those with five- and 10-year restrictions have until June to go to a shop and upgrade to the new device, or risk having their licenses suspended.
Starting Tuesday, every new ignition interlock sentence — one-year, five-year or 10-year — will require a camera as part of the device.
Cost varies from shop to shop, but as an example, at Tri City Interlock in Union Gap, Yakima County, the basic interlock device costs $75 a month and installation is free.
The camera-equipped devices cost $85 per month, plus a $20 Department of Licensing fee and a $5 Washington State Patrol fee. That comes to $110 a month.
The device itself, if a driver had to buy it outright, would cost around $2,400 with the camera feature, manager Bobby Herrera estimated.