Share story

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) — Unofficial results showed three Republican Alaska state legislators — all of whom hold leadership positions — trailing in their primary elections.

Those results could change when questioned and absentee ballots are counted. The Division of Elections on Wednesday said it was processing ballots and did not yet have a number of questioned or absentee ballots.

Unofficial results showed Senate Majority Leader Peter Micciche of Soldotna trailing in his race, as was Rep. Charisse Millett, the Republican minority leader from Anchorage.

Rep. Gabrielle LeDoux also was behind in her race. LeDoux is chair of the House Rules Committee and schedules bills for floor votes.

She is one of three Republicans who joined with Democrats and two independents after the 2016 elections to take control of the House from Republicans in hopes of breaking some of the gridlock that had gripped the Legislature.

LeDoux was labeled a “turncoat” by state GOP Chairman Tuckerman Babcock, as was Kodiak Rep. Louise Stutes, another Republican who joined the majority Democratic caucus.

The third, Rep. Paul Seaton, changed his party registration to nonpartisan ahead of this year’s election and won the uncontested Democratic primary in his district Tuesday. The vote tally on the Republican side of that race remained close.

Early figures suggested low statewide turnout in the primaries.

Messages seeking comment were left Wednesday for Micciche, Millett and LeDoux.

Micciche’s opponent is Ronald “Ron” Gillham, who has described himself as a small business owner and heavy equipment operator making his first run for political office.

Millett’s challenger, Josh Revak, is a U.S. Army veteran whose bio says he previously worked for U.S. Sen. Dan Sullivan and U.S. Rep. Don Young.

Revak received help in his bid from an independent expenditure group chaired by Anchorage political blogger Jeff Landfield.

LeDoux ran against Aaron Weaver. The Division of Elections candidate page did not show a link for a bio of Weaver.