LANSING, Mich. (AP) — Michigan drivers may soon have a grace period for displaying a license plate on their vehicles.
State senators unanimously approved a House bill Wednesday requiring drivers to fasten and display a registration plate on their vehicles no later than 30 days after the registration or renewal date.
The current Michigan Vehicle Code prohibits all driving on the highway without a visible plate.
In November the House cleared its proposal to amend the code with a 30-day buffer, during which paper and electronic verification through the Law Enforcement Information Network would be accepted as proof of registration. Drivers who fail to display a license plate after the 30 days would still receive a civil infraction.
Most Read Nation & World Stories
- You had breakthrough COVID. Can you start living like it’s 2019?
- US charges Belarus with air piracy in reporter's arrest
- Much of nation isn't active enough — but WA residents are exception, CDC says
- McConnell: Black people vote at similar rates to 'Americans'
- Sports on TV & radio: Local listings for Seattle games and events
The bill now heads to the governor’s office.