Share story

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — The Mormon church has announced plans to build seven new temples, including one in Russia where Mormon missionaries are known as “volunteers” and banned by that country’s law from publicly proselytizing.

New church president Russell M. Nelson announced Sunday that the Utah-based Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will build its first temple in Russia in “a major city yet to be determined.”

Nelson also announced plans for temples in Salta, Argentina; Bengaluru, India; Managua, Nicaragua; Cagayan de Oro, Philippines; Layton, Utah; and Richmond, Virginia.

The church has had fewer missionaries in Russia who now refrain from proselytizing publicly after Russian President Vladimir Putin signed an anti-terrorism law in 2016 that restricts religious work.

The Salt Lake Tribune reports the church has 159 operating temples around the world and 30 others on the way.


Information from: The Salt Lake Tribune,