Share story

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Mississippi public colleges and universities will now be overseen by a new College Board president.

Mississippi Public Universities say trustee and president C.D. Smith passed the gavel to incoming president Shane Hooper on Thursday.

Hooper served as vice president to Smith during his term. Trustee Hal Parker will succeed Hooper as vice president.

Hooper will officially take office May 8, when Smith’s year-long term expires. Board presidential terms last one year, in an effort to give most board members an opportunity to serve as president during their tenure.

Hooper was first appointed to the board by Mississippi Republican Gov. Phil Bryant in 2012. He graduated from David Lipscomb University in Nashville before serving as an officer in the United States Marine Corps.