Share story

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb announced the 2018 winners of the annual STEM Team awards.

The program recognizes four high school students for accomplishments in science, technology, engineering and math — a group of academic disciplines often referred to with the acronym STEM.

John Dalloul from Terre Haute South Vigo High School won the science award. Abraham Oliver of Brown County High School won the technology award. Megan Singer from Carmel High School won the engineering award. And Jennings County High School’s Trevor Vogel is the math winner.

The program is a revamp of the Mr. and Ms. Math and Science awards, which were created under former Gov. Mitch Daniels.

Winners receive a $1,000 college scholarship and a commemorative letter jacket.