Some Nevada drivers will need to adjust their insurance coverage as the state's new liability coverage minimums go into effect next month
LAS VEGAS (AP) — Some Nevada drivers will need to adjust their insurance coverage as the state’s new liability coverage minimums go into effect next month.
The new standards require drivers to be covered for at least $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 per crash and $20,000 for property damage per wreck.
According to the state Department of Motor Vehicles, the current minimum protection levels are among the lowest in the country at $15,000 for bodily injury, $30,000 per crash and $10,000 for property damage.
The state Legislature approved a law last year that brought forward the change.
Most Read Nation & World Stories
- Historians privately warn Biden that America's democracy is teetering
- WSU police chief, 2 others retire after internal investigation
- Sports on TV & radio: Local listings for Seattle games and events
- MIT researchers create test to predict COVID immunity; Harvard scientists develop test for both virus and antibodies
- Naturalist who was authority on eastern timber rattlesnakes dies of snakebite at 80
According to the state Division of Insurance, drivers who fail to acquire the new minimums could be fined and their vehicle registrations could be canceled until they get adequate coverage.