The new Seattle Music Commission includes Jason Finn, Megan Jasper, Alex Kochan, Marcus Lalario, Tom Mara, David Meinert, Kate Becker and other local music-industry movers and shakers.

Share story

Three years and one mayor after its initial conception, the Seattle Music Commission made its official debut at City Hall Monday. Originally envisioned as an extension of the Music Advisory Board, which began drafting the Seattle City of Music initiative under the auspices of Mayor Greg Nickels in 2007, the new commission represents an official link between Mayor Mike McGinn’s office, the city council and music community.

The commission comprises 21 members appointed by the mayor and city councilmember Nick Licata. On the list are representatives from the music divisions of Starbucks, Amazon and Microsoft and the local music industry, including:

• Jason Finn, Presidents of The United States of America

• Megan Jasper, Sub Pop Records

• Alex Kochan, AEG Live

• Marcus Lalario, nightclub owner

• Tom Mara, KEXP

• David Meinert, Fuzed Inc. (Capitol Hill Block Party)

• Kate Becker, Vera Project and Seattle Theatre Group

• Elena Dubinets, Seattle Symphony

• Jason Hughes, Sonic Boom Records

• Ben London, The Recording Academy Pacific Northwest Chapter

• DeVon Manier, Sportn’ Life Records

• Jon Stone, One Reel (Bumbershoot)

Funding comes from pre-existing programs.

“In every endeavor, government needs trusted community members to help act as that bridge to the community,” McGinn said. “That’s true here as well — to let the community know the government is doing but also in the reverse direction, to express to us the needs and concerns so we can address them effectively.”

The music commission’s first meeting is Wednesday, June 16. The timeline to meet its current goals — “to support, promote, expand and encourage Seattle’s vibrant culture of music” — extends into 2020.

Jonathan Zwickel: 206-464-3239 or