Share story

The Seattle Film Critics Society, an organization formed in 2016 and comprising 25 members from local print, radio, television and online media (one of whom is yours truly), voted “Get Out” as the year’s best movie. A contemporary horror film with a chilling racial twist, “Get Out” also received an award for best ensemble cast.

The group named Daniel Day-Lewis (“Phantom Thread”) as best actor, Saoirse Ronan (“Lady Bird“) best actress, Willem Dafoe (“The Florida Project“) best supporting actor, and Laurie Metcalf (“Lady Bird“) best supporting actress. Christopher Nolan was named best director, for “Dunkirk,” and Greta Gerwig won best screenplay, for “Lady Bird.”

Other winners are:

Best animated feature: “Coco

Best foreign language film: “Raw

Best documentary feature: “Faces, Places”

Best cinematography: Roger A. Deakins, “Blade Runner 2049”

Best costume design: Mark Bridges, “Phantom Thread”

Best film editing: Lee Smith, “Dunkirk

Best original score: Jonny Greenwood, “Phantom Thread”

Best production design: Dennis Gassner and Alessandra Querzola, “Blade Runner 2049”

Best visual effects: Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Joel Whist, “War for the Planet of the Apes”

Best youth performance: Brooklynn Prince, “The Florida Project

Villain of the year: Dennis & the Horde in “Split,” portrayed by James McAvoy