The Washington Center for the Book announced its annual awards honoring books published by Washington authors.

Share story

The Washington Center for the Book announced its annual awards Saturday evening at Seattle Public Library’s Central Library — a tradition now in its 51st year. (The awards were previously known as the Governor’s Writers Awards.) The program honors books published by Washington authors (either native-born to our state or a current resident for at least three years) in 2016, in eight categories; past winners have included Erik Larson’s “Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania,” Daniel James Brown’s “The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics,” and Amanda Coplin’s “The Orchardist.”

Books for adults:


  • Daredevils” by Shawn Vestal, of Spokane (Penguin Press)


  • “My, My, My, My, My” by Tara Hardy, of Seattle (Write Bloody Publishing)


  • “An Earlier Life” by Brenda Miller, of Bellingham (Judith Kitchen’s Ovenbird Books)

History/General Nonfiction

  • “Eruption: The Untold Story of Mount St. Helens” by Steve Olson, of Seattle (W.W. Norton & Company)

Books for youth:

Picture Book

  • “Thunder Boy Jr.” written by Sherman Alexie, of Seattle, and illustrated by Yuyi Morales (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

Books for Young Readers (ages 6 to 8)

  • “Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea” by Ben Clanton of Tacoma (Tundra Books)

Books for Middle Readers (ages 9 to 12)

  • “Some Kind of Courage” by Dan Gemeinhart, of Cashmere (Scholastic Press)

Books for Young Adults (ages 13 to 18)

  • “Useless Bay” by M.J. Beaufrand, of Seattle (Amulet Books, an imprint of Abrams)