Share story

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) — Elvin Bishop, Eddy Clearwater, Jimmy Johnson, John Mayall and the Memphis Jug Band have been inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame in Memphis, Tennessee.

The five new inductees were honored on Wednesday by the Blues Foundation.

British blues artist Mayall and Eric Clapton formed the Bluesbreakers, which would also include Mick Taylor, Peter Green and John McVie. Bishop was a founding member of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band and had a hit song in 1976 with “Fooled Around and Fell in Love.”

From the Chicago music scene, left-handed guitarist Clearwater earned the nickname “The Chief” for wearing an Indian headdress, while Johnson, a blues singer and guitarist, wrote “Don’t Answer the Door,” a hit for B.B. King.

The Memphis Jug Band was an African-American pre-war jug band.