Share story

Chum Salmon, the winner of the 1985 Longacres Mile, jockey Ricky Frazier and trainer Ben Harris headline a group that will be inducted into the Washington Racing Hall of Fame on Aug. 16, Emerald Downs announced Tuesday.

Chum Salmon, winner of seven stakes including a last-to-first victory in that 1985 Longacres Mile, was elected in the Male Horse category, and Delicate Vine, the 1986 Washington Horse of the Year and a three-time graded stakes winner, won the filly and mare division.

William and Barbara Nelson Jr. will be inducted in the breeding division.


This week, save 90% on digital access.

• The memorial service for former high-school football coach Chuck Tarbox is Monday at 6 p.m. at Juanita High School’s Fieldhouse. Tarbox, one of the top coaches in state history, won back-to-back state titles at Juanita in the 1980s. Tarbox, 77, died July 3 at his home in Surprise, Ariz.

Cindy Rarick, a five-time winner on the LPGA Tour, shot a 3-under 69 to take the first-round lead at the Pepsi Northwest Women’s Open at Twin Lakes Golf and Country Club in Federal Way.

Mark Strickland of Mukilteo shot rounds of 72 and 68 at Tumble Creek Club in Cle Elum to earn medalist honors in qualifying for the 2014 U.S. Amateur Championship, Aug. 11-17 in Johns Creek, Ga. Also qualifying were Andrew Kennedy of Redmond and James Fahy of Vancouver, B.C.

From sports-information reports.

Custom-curated news highlights, delivered weekday mornings.