Kenny Perry and Sean O'Hair birdied five of the last six holes to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout in Naples, Fla.

Share story

NAPLES, Fla. — Kenny Perry and Sean O’Hair birdied five of the last six holes to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout on Sunday.

Perry, 52, became the oldest player to win the Shootout, and also won for the third time with a different partner. He prevailed with John Huston in 2005 and Scott Hoch in 2008.

Perry joins Seattle native Fred Couples, Steve Elkington, Brad Faxon and Scott McCarron with three Shootout victories; Couples and Elkington also won with three different partners.

“We had a ton of fun, just like being a kid enjoying what you’re doing,” the 30-year-old O’Hair said.

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks.

Perry and O’Hair had a 31-under-par 185 total for 54 holes at Tiburon Golf Club. They will split $750,000 of the $3 million purse.

Rory Sabbatini and Charles Howell III made a charge on the back nine that included an eagle on a par-4 hole but finished one stroke back at 30 under. They had a 15-under 57 in the scramble format in the final round.

“We put a good number up there and that’s all we can really do,” Sabbatini said. “We had a lot of fun and Charles hit the ball fantastically.”

Senior succeeds

SYDNEY — Peter Senior won the Australian Open by one stroke, overcoming severe weather conditions that forced a three-hour suspension because of gale-force winds.

Senior, 53, shot an even-par 72 in the final round at The Lakes to become the oldest Australian Open champion. He finished at 4-under 284.

Fellow Australian Brendan Jones was second after a 71.

Kyle Stanley (80) of Gig Harbor was tied for sixth after three rounds and finished tied for 28th place. He was 5 over for the first three holes Sunday.

Jamieson triumphs

DURBAN, South Africa — Scott Jamieson of Scotland won his first European Tour title, beating Steve Webster of England and Eduardo de la Riva of Spain in a playoff after rain reduced the season-opening Nelson Mandela Championship to 36 holes.

Jamieson won with a par on the second playoff hole. The golfers in the playoff were at 7-under 123 after 36 holes on a shortened course.

Custom-curated news highlights, delivered weekday mornings.