Top-ranked Kentucky lost to Vanderbilt 71-64 in the Southeastern Conference tournament final. Kentucky missed its last 14 shots from the field.

Share story

NEW ORLEANS — Kentucky coach John Calipari said from the time he arrived in New Orleans he didn’t like conference tournaments.

After top-ranked Kentucky endured three tough games in as many days with no title to show for it, his opinion wasn’t bound to change.

“I wish this would have happened yesterday so we got home a day earlier,” Calipari said Sunday after the Wildcats collapsed late in a 71-64 loss to Vanderbilt in the Southeastern Conference tournament-championship game.

The Wildcats (32-2) won two of their three games in New Orleans but never led any by more than single digits and trailed in the second half of all three.

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks.

Kentucky was on the cusp of extending its winning streak to 25 games when Anthony Davis’ free throw gave it a 62-55 lead with 5:23 left.

Jeffery Taylor finished with 18 points, John Jenkins and Festus Ezeli added 17 each and Vanderbilt rallied with a 16-2 run to win.

The Commodores (24-10) were playing in their first SEC final since 1951, the year of their other conference championship.

Darius Miller scored 16 points for Kentucky, which was 0 for 14 from the field in the final 8:04.

“Maybe now everybody realizes we’re not invincible,” Calipari said.

“We’re like everybody else out there.”

Atlantic Coast

No. 17 Florida St. 85,

No. 4 North Carolina 82

Tournament most valuable player Michael Snaer scored 18 points to help the Seminoles (24-9), who joined the conference in 1991, beat the Tar Heels (29-5) in Atlanta.

Florida State, which made 11 of 22 three-point shots, won the ACC tournament for the first time.

North Carolina’s P.J. Hairston missed a tying three-point attempt at the buzzer. The Tar Heels were 5 for 20 on threes.

Harrison Barnes led North Carolina with 23 points.

Big Ten

No. 8 Michigan St. 68,

No. 7 Ohio St. 64

Brandon Wood scored a season-high 21 points to lead the Spartans (27-7) past the Buckeyes (27-7) in the title game in Indianapolis.

Michigan State’s Draymond Green, who had 12 points and nine rebounds in the final, was named most outstanding player of the tournament.

Jared Sullinger scored 18 points for Ohio State.

Custom-curated news highlights, delivered weekday mornings.