Share story

College baseball

Stanford loses at Vanderbilt; CWS will not have a Pac-12 team

Host Vanderbilt pounded out 15 hits and beat Stanford 12-5 in the deciding game of their best-of-three super regional Sunday in Nashville, Tenn., to advance to the College World Series.

For the first time in 17 years, the CWS field in Omaha, Neb., will not include a Pac-12 school.

This week, save 90% on digital access.

There were five Pac-12 teams in the NCAA tournament field of 64, and Stanford was the last one from the conference to be eliminated.

Other teams to secure spots in the eight-team CWS include Louisville, UC Irvine, Texas and Texas Tech.

CWS berths will be on the line Monday when Pepperdine plays at Texas Christian, Maryland visits Virginia and Mississippi plays at Louisiana-Lafayette.

College athletics

Pac-12 adds 11 a.m. TV window for upcoming football season

Pac-12 officials announced they have created an 11 a.m. television window on the Pac-12 Networks for the upcoming football season in an effort to reduce the number of night games played by teams in the conference.

“This is a positive step for Pac-12 fans across the conference,” commissioner Larry Scott said.

The number of games played in the new morning window will be determined as the season and television picks progress, a news release said.

The Pac-12 summer meetings ended and university presidents and chancellors reiterated the conference’s call for reform in athletics.

The conference said in a statement the Pac-12 CEO Group, which is made up of presidents and chancellors, moved closer to finalizing a proposal that better addresses the needs of athletes and “simultaneously reaffirms the primacy of our universities’ academic mission.”

In addition, the conference expanded a health initiative for athletes that includes extending the funding of a research-grant program at $3.6 million per year for the next three years.


Carroll discusses 2010 USC exit

Pete Carroll left USC to coach the Seahawks in January 2010 and the Trojans were hit with severe sanctions several months later — including a two-year bowl ban and 30 lost scholarships over three years. The NCAA imposed the penalties after it concluded Reggie Bush, who was voted the 2005 Heisman Trophy winner, and his family received money and other benefits from sports marketers.

Carroll told the Los Angeles Times he wouldn’t have left if he knew the penalties the NCAA would give USC.

“Had we known that that was imminent … I would have never been able to leave under those circumstances,” Carroll told the newspaper. “When I look back now, I would have stayed there to do what we needed to do to resolve the problem.”


Lynx rebounds from first loss

Defending champion Minnesota suffered its first loss of the season Friday when it bowed to the Storm in Seattle, but the Lynx rebounded with an 85-72 victory over the host Los Angeles Sparks to improve to 8-1. Seimone Augustus scored 26 points to lead the Lynx.

In another game, Cappie Pondexter scored 21 points on 10-for-11 shooting to lead host New York to an 81-64 victory over Washington.


Red Bulls win at New England

Eric Alexander and Peguy Luyindula scored to help the visiting New York Red Bulls defeat the New England Revolution 2-0 in a Major League Soccer match.

The Revolution failed to extend its Eastern Conference lead. New England has 23 points, compared with 22 for defending league champion Sporting Kansas City and D.C. United.

In another MLS match, Chivas USA and the Los Angeles Galaxy played to a 1-1 draw.


De La Hoya heads Hall class

Capping a career that included 10 titles in six weight divisions, an Olympic gold medal and 10 world titles, Oscar De La Hoya was inducted into the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota, N.Y.

The Hall of Fame’s 25th class also included two of De La Hoya’s contemporaries in the modern era — Puerto Rican standout Felix “Tito” Trinidad and Joe Calzaghe of Wales.

Also inducted were: George Chaney, Charles Ledoux and Mike O’Dowd in the old-timer category; Tom Allen in the pioneer category; and promoter Barry Hearn, referees Richard Steele and Eugene Corri, journalist Graham Houston and Sports Illustrated photographer Neil Leifer in the nonparticipant and observer categories.

Seattle Times news services

Custom-curated news highlights, delivered weekday mornings.