Share story

January 1961-November 1969: Frank Ramon (retired after accusations he interefered with a gambling investigation that exposed corruption)

November 1969-September 1970: W.F. Moore, C.R. Gain and Edward Toothman (acting chiefs)

September 1970-March 1974: George Tielsch

March 1974-March 1978: Robert Hanson

This week, save 90% on digital access.

March 1978-February 1979: H.A. Vanden Wyer

Febrary 1979-February 1994: Patrick Fitzsimons

February1994-February 2000: Norman Stamper (resigned in wake of World Trade Organization riots)

February 2000-July 2000: Herb Johnson (acting chief)

July 2000-March 2009: Gil Kerlikowske (tenure marred by deadly Mardi Gras riots; resigned to become federal drug czar)

May 2009-May 2013: John Diaz (in 2011, Justice Department says it finds evidence of biased policing, demands SPD overhaul)

Custom-curated news highlights, delivered weekday mornings.