SALEM, Ore. — Oregon drivers caught smoking in cars with kids may face hefty fines under a new state law.
Gov. John Kitzhaber signed into law on Tuesday a bill that prohibits drivers from lighting up if a person under 18 is also in the car.
The bill was the subject of a fiery debate in the Legislature.
Supporters said secondhand smoke is a health hazard and children shouldn’t be harmed by their parents’ bad decision to smoke.
- Power restored after major, hour-long outage in downtown Seattle
- Trump, Clinton win Washington state primary
- Designed in Seattle, this $1 cup could save millions of babies
- Boeing plans hundreds of layoffs in local IT unit
- Walkoff magic! Leonys Martin’s dramatic homer in ninth lifts Mariners
Most Read Stories
Critics said the state shouldn’t regulate what drivers do in their own cars.
A police officer could enforce the ban only if the driver had been pulled over for a separate traffic violation. A maximum fine for the first offense would be $250.
The law also covers marijuana and regulated narcotics.