Share story

Four incumbents on the Port of Seattle Commission appeared to be surviving their re-election challenges Tuesday night, with Commissioner John Creighton beating challenger Auburn Mayor Pete Lewis in initial returns by 69 percent to 31 percent.

Voters were also supporting two appointed commissioners, Courtney Gregoire and Stephanie Bowman. Gregoire was beating socialist opponent John Naubert in initial returns by 83 percent to 17 percent, and Bowman was leading over former travel agent Michael Wolfe by 70 percent to 29 percent.

Bowman will serve a four-year term. Gregoire will serve the remaining two years of Gael Tarleton’s term. Tarleton resigned this year to join the state Legislature.

Commission President Tom Albro held a strong lead over his challenger, Eastside lawyer Richard Pope, with 58 percent of the vote to Pope’s 42 percent.

This week, save 90% on digital access.

The four commissioners, along with Commissioner Bill Bryant, make up a commission eager to reinvent itself and gain clout after losing a high-profile battle against a proposed Sodo arena.

The commissioners spent much of their campaigns arguing that the Port deserves more attention for its role in the local economy.

Creighton is the commissioner most likely to challenge the way the Port does business. He has questioned a recent proposal that the Port sit down with its three seaport terminal operators to negotiate ways to improve the dwindling seaport’s competitive position.

Lewis supported the move and said it was necessary to save the Port from its “dire position.”

Emily Heffter: 206-464-8246 or On Twitter: @EmilyHeffter

Custom-curated news highlights, delivered weekday mornings.